top of page
  • NN

The forth week - Final countdown

These week went by really quick. Since the exams are coming even closer, I had to increase my study time. As a result I got more and more tired during my internship. Nonetheless, I still learned new things throughout the week. This final week my supervising nurse encouraged me to look deeper into why exactly certain medication would be prescribed for a patient. This gave me a positive wake up call and thought me to be more critical about prescribed medication. This was a glimpse into the thoughts of many nurses in my ward as I have noticed that they tend to reason a lot about prescribed interventions for patients. Furthermore I got to observe more ultra sounds of different hearts and as always I was still amazed by the view of them. The ultra sounds I got to see were also not “the norm” for a normal functioning heart which gave me a better insight of what doctors look for in an ultrasound. Towards the end of the week I got to witness a retiring party of a staff member where a typical Swedish “sandwich cake” was served. Who would have thought you can make cake out of a sandwich?! Since it contained animal products I didn’t taste it but I will remember the idea to try and make a vegan version of it.



On my last day I wanted to treat the team with something as a thank you for the educational weeks. Unfortunately I hadn’t thought about bringing some typical Belgian treats when coming to Sweden, but I managed to improvise a somewhat Belgian treat. I made some vegan crêpes and brought whipped cream and strawberries. Since the French can get away with “French fries”, I figured why not bring their crêpes that are also often eaten in Belgium? Yes waffles were on my mind but too bad I didn’t bring a waffle iron either…



Outside of my internship I got everything in my room ready for departure, visited a few spots I hadn’t got the time to visit yet and took some last pictures of things I wanted to share. On my departure day however, I managed to forget my camera at the airport. After some calling and mailing I got the happy news that my bag was safely stored at the airport. It will take some time to get it back (thankful for the people helping me with that) but pictures and more are on their way.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page